September 30, 2023

Drivers in Maine have the fame of being one of many worst within the nation. So, if you happen to personal a automobile, purchase automobile insurance coverage and even life insurance coverage! However wait; do you’ve got a Maine driver’s license? Effectively, that’s the factor to prioritize earlier than hitting the Maine roads.   

Driving with no driver’s license can all the time be dangerous, leading to a hefty penalty and a doable jail time of 180 days. You’ll wish to keep away from this pointless price with title, registration, and auto insurance coverage prices. Don’t fear! Our article will give an in-depth view on getting a state of Maine new driver’s license! 

Find the best auto insurance policy in maine

What paperwork do I have to get a Maine driver’s license? 

You should be not less than 16 years to get a license in Maine. Along with that, it’s essential to produce the next paperwork with you if you go to the Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) website.  

  • Citizenship proof: It may be your US passport or a voter registration kind. 
  • Residency proof: it consists of your mortgage assertion, lease settlement, or a W-2 kind. 
  • Id proof: Two ones proving your birthdate and signature.  
  • A imaginative and prescient screening take a look at consequence.  

It’s essential to get a learner’s allow earlier than making use of for a license, regardless of age. Drivers below 21 should maintain the allow for six months earlier than taking the street take a look at. In case you are 21 or older, there isn’t a minimal requirement for a way lengthy you maintain the allow.  

Tips on how to get a Maine driver’s license 

You can begin processing for getting your driver’s license in Maine if you attain the age of 15. Nonetheless, it’s essential to full the complete Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) program, which incorporates three principal phases.  

  • Learner’s allow 
  • Intermediate license 
  • Unrestricted driver’s license 

Tips on how to get a learner’s allow 

It’s the first stage of getting your Maine driver’s license. The next are the necessities it’s essential to fulfill to use for one. 


  • Full a drivers education course approved by the state. 
  • Then submit the stuffed MVE-64 kind (Non-Commercial Class C Application form). 
  • Produce paperwork proving your identity, residency, lawful presence within the US, and driver’s ed completion certificates, if required.  
  • Pay the license price. 
  • The BMV will course of the paperwork inside three weeks and inform you of your written examination schedule.  
  • On the day of your written examination, go to your testing middle.  
  • Move a imaginative and prescient take a look at. It’s essential to not less than have 20/40 imaginative and prescient in one of many eyes to move the take a look at. You can too take a imaginative and prescient take a look at outdoors the testing middle, however it’s essential to have a physician fill out the Eye Examination form 
  • Move the written take a look at. It’s going to have 30 questions assessing your understanding of street security, elementary legal guidelines, and site visitors indicators. To move, it’s essential to appropriately reply 24 questions. 
  • Then obtain your learner’s allow.  

Incomes a learner’s allow means you may’t drive freely on roads. These restrictions will apply to you. 

  • An individual aged not less than 20 and holding a driver’s license for not less than two years should accompany you whereas driving. 
  • You mustn’t use a cell phone whereas driving, even in hands-free mode.  

Tips on how to get an intermediate license 

You should be between 16-21 and maintain the allow for not less than six months to use. 


  • You need to log 70 hours of driving apply, together with 10 hours at evening. Your dad or mum or guardian ought to full and signal a Driving Log kind (MVE-21) earlier than you may drive. 
  • Then schedule your street take a look at by mailing the MVE-21 kind to the next tackle.  

         Bureau of Motor Autos 

         29 State Home Station 

         Augusta, ME 04333-0029 

  • Anticipate the BMV to repair the street take a look at’s date, time, and site. 
  • Carry the next objects to the examination middleyour allow, the notice of your examination appointment, a borrowed or owned automobile, automobile registration, auto insurance coverage, and a vehicle inspection card. Additionally, produce proof of proprietor settlement if you happen to’re utilizing a borrowed automobile.  
  • Then pass the take a look at. 
  • Then give up your learner’s allow.  
  • Get your intermediate drivers license. 
  • You can’t drive with passengers who’re not your loved ones members except accompanied by an grownup aged not less than 20 with a license for not less than two years. 
  • Driving between 12 am and 5 am isn’t allowed.  
  • You mustn’t use a cell phone whereas driving, even in hands-free mode.  

Tips on how to get an unrestricted driver’s license 

driver's license in Maine
Picture courtesy:

If you don’t violate the intermediate license restrictions, the restrictions will get relaxed after 270 days. However that is solely the juvenile provisional license. So, inflicting any violation will consequence within the suspension of your license instantly. When you’re 21 and don’t have any violations, convert your non permanent juvenile license to a full, unrestricted one.   

However are you aged above 21 and making use of for the license for the primary time? Then follows these steps to get your unrestricted Maine driver’s license.  

What to do  

  • Get your learner’s allow.  
  • Schedule a street take a look at by mailing the street take a look at request card to the next tackle. You will discover the tackle on the again of your learners allow. 

         Bureau of Motor Autos 

         29 State Home Station 

         Augusta, ME 04333-0029 

  • Whenever you get the appointment discover, go to the testing middle with the next – your allow, the notice of your examination appointment, a borrowed or owned automobile, automobile registration, auto insurance coverage, and a vehicle inspection card. 
  • Then move the street take a look at. 
  • You’ll get your provisional license. For those who commit any transferring violations whereas utilizing this license, it’ll get instantly suspended.  
  • After one 12 months, you may convert your non permanent license to a full, unrestricted license. 

How do I switch my driver’s license to Maine? 


Out-of-state drivers should solely attend a imaginative and prescient take a look at after proving their residency and offering the required paperwork. After surrendering their out-of-state license, the applicant will obtain a 60-day non permanent license whereas the substitute will get mailed. Lively-duty navy personnel and full-time college students with a legitimate license from one other state are exempted from license replacements. The applying price will price $35, and the license price might be round $30.  

How a lot does a Maine driver’s license price? 

These are the charges related to getting a brand new driver’s license in Maine. The price for the standard license will differ between $20-$30 based mostly on the period. For REAL-ID, the fee will differ between $40-$55 based mostly on the license period.  

License sort (drivers aged 65 or below)  Price 
Customary license (six years)  $30 
Customary license (4 years)  $20 
REAL-ID (six years)  $55 
REAL-ID (4 years)  $40 

What number of courses of driver’s licenses are issued in Maine? 

There are three principal courses – A, B, and C. Class A and B business car licenses are characterised by the dimensions and weight of your car. 

Can I take advantage of my Maine driver’s license to fly? 

Starting Might 7, 2025, just some paperwork might be acknowledged to board a business flight or enter sure federal amenities like navy websites. So, a regular Maine driver’s license or state ID is not going to serve. You should use a Maine REAL-ID.  

Can I modify my driver’s license tackle on-line in Maine? 

Sure. However you may solely do this by visiting a BMV facility in individual.  

Are you able to drive with passengers at 18 in Maine? 

Aside from direct members of the family, you may’t drive individuals except accompanied within the entrance passenger seat by a licensed driver aged not less than 20 and holding a legitimate license for the final two years. 

Can I renew my driver’s license on-line for the state of Maine? 

Sure. You possibly can renew it on-line through the use of BMV’s web site. Know extra concerning the license renewal course of by way of our weblog. 

Can foreigners drive in Maine? 

If in case you have a international driver’s license, receiving your Maine driver’s license is just like making use of in your first license. It’s essential to apply for an instruction allow and move imaginative and prescient, written, and street examinations. 

How lengthy is a street take a look at in Maine? 

road in Maine
Picture by MoneyforCoffee from Pixabay

The street take a look at will take round quarter-hour.  

Getting auto insurance coverage in Maine  

Ideally, Maine’s common automobile insurance coverage price is decrease than the nationwide common price. However as a automobile proprietor, you’ll be trying to purchase the most affordable insurance coverage coverage. However how will you get it? 

That’s the place will assist you to. You will get quotes from all insurance coverage firms in your space through the use of our app or web site. Then examine these quotes and purchase the one with the bottom quote. It can save you practically $971 in your Maine automobile insurance coverage whereas shopping for by us.  

Your automobile possession expertise will get higher each day with our all-in-one auto super app! You may save practically $3000 yearly, get money again, and discover the perfect offers with our value monitoring characteristic. You possibly can depend on us to search out the perfect parking, auto refinance, auto insurance coverage, residence insurance coverage, and gas discounts with our all-in-one app! We’ll additionally assist you to find and e book the closest EV charging stations and automobile washes